Logo for: National Kidney Registry

Eusebio (EJ) Tamez

  • Director, Patient Coaching

EJ Tamez joined the National Kidney Registry as Head Donor Search Coach in 2023, with the primary focus of achieving 400 living donor microsite patient transplants in that year. In 2024, EJ was named Director, Patient Coaching where he oversees the team of microsite coaches. EJ brings over 27 years of multicultural leadership experience within various industries throughout the U.S. and Mexico. He comes to the NKR from Howmet Aerospace, where he led Capital Investment Management and New Program transfers across different facilities. EJ is Green Belt Certified in Six Sigma and Lean Manufacturing principles. Prior to Howmet, he worked at Del Monte Foods, where he led the implementation of a Continuous Improvement strategy.

EJ holds an undergraduate degree in International Business from Saint Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas and an MBA from Sul Ross State University in Alpine, Texas.

EJ became a living kidney donor when he donated a kidney to his younger brother, Luis Tamez. Since the transplant surgery, Luis and EJ have become enthusiastic public speakers advocating for organ donation. Speaking at medical seminars and transplant surgery events around the country, the two share their personal experiences, including the challenges and triumphs.

EJ’s passion is spreading awareness about the need for kidney donations. He also serves as a valuable resource to other potential living kidney donors and recipients with the National Kidney Donation Organization. Recently he completed certification to become an Independent Living Donor Advocate (ILDA), sponsored by the American Society of Transplantation (AST).

EJ has lived in Del Rio since 2011. He resides there with his wife, Iliana, and three active teenage sons. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus and enjoys participating in half Ironmans, scuba diving and riding his motorcycle.

Photo of Eusebio (EJ) Tamez

Our Leadership

View Current Medical Board Members View Current Operations Committee Members